The 103rd Open | 1974 Royal Lytham & St Annes

Player becomes a Champion in three decades

For a long time, Harry Vardon and J.H. Taylor were the only players to win The Open in three different decades. In 1974 they were matched by Gary Player.

Continue reading

Royal Lytham & St Annes played host to Player's most emphatic victory as he triumphed by four strokes from Peter Oosterhuis despite three bogeys in the final four holes.

You can watch the Official Film of the 1974 Championship here.